BKB Stats 2012

As you might know, there is a device that counts the number of riders on BKB each day. We’ve put together a summary of the data it has collected this year so far (up to the end of October) below and a couple of bar charts. Weekends and Bank Holidays are, as you would expect, the busiest days. You might notice a few days in February where the count is zero – this was when the ground was frozen and the counter couldn’t function!

With an average of nearly 3,500 riders per month (approaching 5000 in peak months), and the recent wet weather, you can see why the trail repair and drainage work we have carried out over the past 12 months was so important. Combined with the new section of trail, this work is really paying dividends now with the trail rideable all year round, even after heavy and prolonged rain, and still able to cope with the huge traffic it receives.

Summary

Total riders 2012 (up to end of October): 34,746
Busiest day:
Sun 22 Jul (445)
Quietest day: Wed 25 Apr / Mon 11 Jun (4)
Busiest month: September (4778)
Quietest month: February (1717 but skewed by lack of data)
Average riders per day: 114
Average riders per month: 3,475
Busiest day of the week: Sunday (average 269 riders)
Quietest day of the week: Monday & Tuesday (average 52 riders)
Busiest non-weekend day: Wednesday (average 64 riders)
Busiest Bank Holiday: August

Riders Per Day

BKB Riders Per Day 2012

Riders Per Month

BKB Riders Per Month 2012

Average Riders by Day of Week

 Day Avg Riders
Monday 52
Tuesday 52
Wednesday 64
Thursday 53
Friday 50
Saturday 258
Sunday 269

Top 10 Busiest Days

 Date Riders
Sun 22/07/2012 445
Sun 09/09/2012 425
Sat 22/09/2012 418
Sun 12/08/2012 408
Sun 30/09/2012 402
Sun 02/09/2012 401
Sat 08/09/2012 398
Sun 14/10/2012 390
Sun 07/10/2012 387
Sun 26/02/2012 375

Top 10 Quietest Days

 Date Riders
Wed 25/04/2012 4
Mon 11/06/2012 4
Tue 03/01/2012 5
Tue 14/02/2012 7
Mon 09/01/2012 10
Mon 23/04/2012 11
Mon 24/09/2012 11
Tue 24/01/2012 12
Fri 15/06/2012 12
Fri 19/10/2012 12